Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Please Help Me

I want to let everyone who reads my blog to know I am walking in the upcoming Avon Walk for Breast Cancer in Charlotte, NC on Oct. 26-27, 2013. I have a friend who died of this horrible type of cancer this past May. I am walking for my friend Carol Flemming Al Jroush. Carol helped provide me with information about Saudi Arabia as she was married to a Saudi National, Abdullah Al Jroush. We met online last year while I was writing Only Love Twice. She encouraged me and was a great support to my dream of writing and publishing my novel. I had planned to visit her while I was in Charlotte as she lived nearby but unfortunately Allah called her to his side in May 2013. I miss her and her wonderful positive attitude! She was always ready to help regardless of how bad she felt as she battled the disease.

I am asking all who read this posting to please donate on my behalf to the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. Even the smallest donation will help provide money for research, provide mammograms to women who could not afford them, and help families effected by breast cancer. The Avon Walk.org website tells more about what the foundation does with these donations. I was surprised by the statistics they show of how many individuals, and it is men as well as women, are affected by breast cancer.

I began walking a year ago to lose weight and improve my own health. Amazingly I get some of my inspirations for my writing while I am out walking. Now I am up to walking eight miles a day and more healthy than I was when I was in high school. The walking also helped to improve my horseback riding. This spring I decided as I was healthy I should dedicate my ability to walk distance to those who are not. I am walking the 40 miles in Charlotte in those two days because I can. I just need your help to raise my goal of $2000.00 for this great cause. 

The link above will take you to my personal page so your donation is credited toward my fund raising efforts. Every dollar counts so please help me. I’ll be walking for each of you that weekend. I cannot thank you enough for your support in both this cause as well as reading my blog and other writings. You all mean a lot to me!!!! 

Do you have a friend or family member who has survived breast cancer? Have you lost a friend or family member to this disease? I am making ribbons to wear on my shirt while I walk that weekend in Charlotte which will carry the name of survivors and those lost. Let me know when you donate and I will put on a ribbon with their name on it just for you. I hope to be wearing hundreds of ribbons that day!