Tags

, , ,

A Holiday Miracle

by

Kat Canfield

 

I had left my office party late on Christmas Eve. The weather had turned cold during the day and snow was now falling. I live in town but the party was held at an Inn in the country. Since I had to drive the thirty minutes home I had elected not to have more than one glass of wine for the evening and I had been drinking hot peppermint tea before I left.

The snow was coming down hard and had accumulated during the evening. Not being overly familiar with the area I nearly missed a turn but took it too fast and the car slid on the snow into the ditch. I tried the old and true way to get out of snowy ditches by putting the car in forward then reverse to try to get enough traction to get out of the ditch. However, this time it just would not work. So here I am stuck in the ditch on a cold snowy Christmas Eve night.

I got out to look the situation over. The car had slid such that the frame was on the ground. No wonder I couldn’t get the wheels to get traction. I kicked the car tire in frustration but only succeeded in hurting my foot which was also starting to feel numb from the cold. I was not dressed for playing in the snow either. There was no way I could push the car out by myself but fortunately, in the modern age, I had my trusty cell phone to help me out. I called a tow service to come to my rescue but they would be about forty five minutes before they could get to me.

The snow really was lovely as it fell silently on the countryside. But I was angry at myself for not being more careful while driving. I was still standing outside the car by a fence that ran the length of the field next to the road. Suddenly I saw a large white shape come out of the snowy night. The shape was a white horse. It walked to the fence and reached out to me with its nose. The horse’s breath gave me an immediate warm feeling. I reached out to scratch its ears. The horse leaned in to me. I could feel a peace I had not felt since getting into the car on a snowy night to drive home. The large body gave me warmth and blocked the wind that blew the snow.

I had a piece of peppermint candy in the car left from the party so I got it out of the car and gave it to my new friend. The horse took the treat gently from my hand. It then rubbed its head on my shoulder. I stayed outside the in the snow next to my new friend while I waited for the tow truck to arrive.

As the truck drove up I left my new friend to talk to the driver and pay for the truck to pull me out of the ditch. I got into the car to drive it while the truck pulled it, and got out when I was back on firm roadway. I thanked the driver and turned back to the fence to say goodbye to my new friend. To my surprise the horse was gone into the snow the same way it had appeared. I drove on home with a warm feeling and realized that horse in the snow storm had given me a gift by making me feel better about a bad situation. I remember my Grandmother telling me how animals know what humans are feeling and they will try to aid you when you are feeling blue. Well, she was right on this night as that horse had made me feel so much better.

This story might not seem so significant except for what happened afterward. After the holidays I had occasion to drive out that way. The snow had melted and I thought I would take my horse friend a little treat. As I drove to the spot of my night in the ditch, I did not see a fence on that corner. In fact, there was not a fence on either side. Furthermore, there were no horses to be seen anywhere around the area. I thought maybe I had the wrong intersection but I could see the skid marks on the side of the road and could see the spot where my car had rested on the ground. I know this is the right place. Did I dream the whole incident? Did I imagine the horse coming to comfort me? Had my eyes played tricks on me about a white horse coming out of the snow to rub on me and give me comfort?

When I got back home that day I had convinced myself I had dreamed it all up while sitting in a car stuck on the side of the road. Until a few days later and I pulled the coat I had been wearing that night out of the closet. There on the coat was a few hairs of long white hair stuck to the coat.

Give a hug to your horse, dog, cat, or other pet after reading my story. Merry Christmas to all and to our furry friends who give us comfort throughout the year.