Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The title is done as a hashtag so everyone can support this initiative, #BringBackOurGirls, on Twitter. When I first saw this hashtag, I did not realize what it was about. I have spent some time researching it and am completely appalled at what is going on and the fact it seems no one within the various Governments are trying to help recue these girls.

Here is some of the back story. On April 14 nearly 300 teenage girls were taken hostage from the Chibok Government Girls Secondary School in Nigeria. They were taken hostage by a terrorist group named Boko Haram, translated means “Western Education is Sin”. The leader of the group, Abubakar Shekau, has put out a video that can be viewed on various news sites on the internet. I will not give this guy any additional fame by posting it here. A translation of his ramblings is roughly this: “I abducted your girls. I will sell them in the market. There is a market for selling humans. Allah says I should sell. He commands me to sell. I will sell women.” (My personal aside to his comments: Allah has spoken to you?? Are you now a prophet? I don’t think so! You need to go back to your Quaran and Haddith and read the words of the Prophet Mohammad (PBUH). You are showing your ignorance. Oh, yeah, right, you can’t read! God will have words with you soon, I pray.)

Seventy two percent of Nigerian people are unschooled. It is worse for females than males. The families of these girls were trying to help them become better humans by educating them. The girls are Christian as well as Muslim, being educated in a school where learning is more important than just religion. This terrorist group wants to keep everyone poor and illiterate in Nigeria. By doing so they hold the power. They are selling Human Beings, male and female, into Slavery. Every American should be outraged by this. Obama, Sharpton, Jackson, and every other civil rights activist should be working hard on this!

So, what can be done? What I learned today is the girls were mostly taken into other African Countries like Chad and Cameroon. They will be sold into marriage. Supposedly, the authorities do not know where the girls are being held. Yet nearly fifty girls escaped. The fear is if attempts are made to rescue them, they will all be killed.

I am a human rights activist. I am a female rights activist. I will help get the word out so pressure can be put on Governments to rescue these girls. I would volunteer to do anything possible to help them, including being the Sniper who takes out Shekau. Please retweet, share on Facebook, re-blog, write letters to your Congresspersons, call the White House and State Department. Regardless of your feelings about religion, this is abhorrent to kidnap and sell human beings. Allah strike them all down!